What I’ll be reading this Summer! Part 1

Summer is fast approaching. Some days, here in ‘Sunny Bournemouth’ (not always sunny, would not recommend from Sept-May) it actually feels like it IS summer already. This unpredictably warm weather has made me add a load of summery contemporaries to my never ending amazon wishlist, and with any luck I’ll get through some of them in the next three months.

(I started writing this list, but it’s ended up being way too long, so I’ll be splitting this out into two (or maybe three?) parts. I clearly have no self restraint.)

So what books am I thinking of reading this summer? Lets start with;

London Belongs to Us by Sara Manning

519KHvSs7EL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Sara Manning was one of favourite authors growing up. As a proud Brit I’d just come to accept that all of my favourite books would be set in North America (mostly New York, but sometimes California) and then Sara Manning came along and blew that out of the water. Sara’s books where set in the UK and the characters actually used the same slang my friends and I would use (!) and went to places I had actually heard of. Guitar Girl was one of my favourite books, and though I haven’t read it for a long time, I still have very fond memories of it. So when I heard Sara was releasing a book set in London (my home town!) I was beyond excited.

Description from Amazon;

“Twelve hours, two boys, one girl . . . and a whole lot of hairspray.

Seventeen-year-old Sunny’s always been a little bit of a pushover. But when she’s sent a picture of her boyfriend kissing another girl, she knows she’s got to act. What follows is a mad, twelve-hour dash around London – starting at 8pm in Crystal Palace (so far away from civilisation you can’t even get the Tube there) then sweeping through Camden, Shoreditch, Soho, Kensington, Notting Hill . . . and ending up at 8am in Alexandra Palace.

Along the way Sunny meets a whole host of characters she never dreamed she’d have anything in common with – least of all the devilishly handsome (and somewhat vain) French ‘twins’ (they’re really cousins) Jean Luc and Vic. But as this love-letter to London shows, a city is only a sum of its parts, and really it’s the people living there who make up its life and soul. And, as Sunny discovers, everyone – from friends, apparent-enemies, famous bands and even rickshaw drivers – is willing to help a girl on a mission to get her romantic retribution.

A fast-paced, darkly funny love letter to London, boys with big hair and the joys of staying up all night.”

I’m expecting a kind of Nick & Norah’s infinite playlist book, lots of craziness, funny moments and great characters (also lots of British slang, bring it on!). But what I’m most excited about is Sara’s use of London as the backdrop, and being able to take a lot of book photos with this book around London over summer!

Release: 2nd June 2016

The next on my list is a little bit of a cover buy, but can you blame me? It’s gorgeous!

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

9k=

 

Stunning. If I had this book I would not be able to resist putting it in every picture ever. Vinegar Girl is part of the Hogarth Shakespeare series which sees modern authors take on Shakepeare’s classic plays to modernise and adapt them. This book is a adaptation of The Taming of the Shrew– and you probably already familiar with the story even if you’ve never read it. The classic chick flick 10 Things I Hate About You, starring Julia Stiles and Heath Ledger, is a modernisation of the Taming of the Shrew.

Description from Amazon;

You can’t get around Kate Battista as easily as all that. Kate Battista is feeling stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but the adults don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner.

Dr Battista has other problems. After years out in the academic wilderness, he is on the verge of a breakthrough. His research could help millions. There’s only one problem: his brilliant young lab assistant, Pyotr, is about to be deported. And without Pyotr…When Dr Battista cooks up an outrageous plan that will enable Pyotr to stay in the country, he’s relying – as usual – on Kate to help him.

Kate is furious: this time he’s really asking too much. But will she be able to resist the two men’s touchingly ludicrous campaign to win her round? Anne Tyler’s retelling of The Taming of the Shrew asks whether a thoroughly modern, independent woman like Kate would ever sacrifice herself for a man. The answer is as individual, off-beat and funny as Kate herself.

I’ve always been a fan of adaptations, and I’m especially excited for this one. It seems like the perfect laid back beach read, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Release date: 16th June 2016

The next book has been out a while, but I haven’t yet read any Colleen Hoover (shocking, I know) so I want to get around to reading;

Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover

51X6zMkoyPL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Description from Amazon;

A chance encounter in the dark leads eighteen-year-old Daniel and the girl who stumbles across him to profess their love for each other. But this love has conditions: they agree it will last only one hour, and it will be only make-believe.

When their hour is up and the girl rushes off like Cinderella, Daniel tries to convince himself that what happened between them seemed perfect only because they were pretending it was. Moments like that happen only in fairy tales.

One year and one bad relationship later, his disbelief in love-at-first-sight is stripped away the day he meets Six: a girl with a strange name and an even stranger personality. Unfortunately for Daniel, finding true love doesn’t guarantee a happily ever after . . . it only further threatens it.

Will an unbearable secret from the past jeopardize Daniel and Six’s only chance at saving each other?

Finding Cinderella seems to be the least serious of Colleen’s work (and this is great for me, seeing as I find it very hard to read books I know are going to be sad). It also seems pretty fun and cute, and during summer thats what I really need to make me happy.

I’m so excited about this next book I’ve already pre-ordered it!

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

26721568

Description from Goodreads:

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

Ok, I have a thing for the ‘bestfriend romance’ storyline, and so from the description this seems right up my street. I tried to get into Jennifer’s Lux series, and failed (my fault, not the books. I believe I put it down to pick up a new release and then didn’t pick it back up) but I am more the willing to give her this second chance, especially with a cover like that (so pretty, I am loving the watercolour trend).

This book has been released, but in the UK the paperback will be released on the

16th June 2016

That’s all for today, but this is definitely going to a recurring segment because I have a lot more contemporaries, new and old, I want to try and read this Summer. I often put off books until summer if I think they are ‘beach reads’, and I also don’t read half as many contemporaries as I do fantasies, so its definitely time to do some catching up!

2 thoughts on “What I’ll be reading this Summer! Part 1

    • cityoffiction says:

      After I posted this today I reread the description and had to forcibly stop myself from going and buying it for kindle so I could read it straight away, I’m really looking forward to it (but I have like 4 books on the go at the moment and adding to them is not the best idea). Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

