Review: Smut By Karina Halle!

This book is New Adult and may not be suitable for younger readers

Smut is a New Adult romance book written by Karina Hale which follows the story of Blake and Amanda as they put aside their many many differences to write smutty books in order to make some quick money.

The story starts with Amanda and Blake in the same writing class, and they are horrified to find out they will be each others writing partners for an upcoming assignment seeing as they both don’t hold the other in very high esteem. Amanda sees Blake as a slacker, someone who is only taking the writing class she takes so seriously for the credits it offers, while Blake sees Amanda as someone who has always had everything handed to her. In life they clash, but they soon find out on paper they work well, complimenting each other’s writing styles and prose.

After handing in the final assignment Blake and Amanda are reluctantly splitting ways when Blake has a interesting conversation with their professor about how popular written erotica has become in recent years. When realising how much of a market there is for smut online Blake propositions Amanda to become his writing partner, splitting the profits. But can their relationship really stay innocent when they are writing the filthiest of books?

I picked this up for a quick read to try and get the June ball rolling, and I really enjoyed it. It was funny and light and quick, and I really loved the premise. I have to admit by the end I had considered taking up writing erotica as a hobby, because Amanda and Blake seeing to be doing well enough (money-wise). As someone who reads a LOT of YA fiction I always find myself a little out of my comfort zone with adult books (especially when there is a lot of sex, because I’m just not used to it at all) but I liked both Amanda and Blake’s characters and relationship, and I didn’t feel like anything was too underdeveloped or quick.

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 14.34.45.png

Overall I’m giving this 3.5 ice creams, just because even though I really enjoyed it I’m almost certain I won’t be remembering it in a few months time, the character’s names have already left my head and it’s only been a week since I finished reading. I definitely would recommend this for a book slump rebound book, or a quick summer read.

3 thoughts on “Review: Smut By Karina Halle!

Leave a Reply

