June Wrap Up and July TBR

June was a pretty good month for me, reading wise (unlike May); I managed to get through 10 books, all of which where pretty sizeable so I’m rather pleased with myself.

First up was;

Smut by Karina Halle

29381926

I started the month out with Smut by Karina Halle, a romantic comedy in book form which was really cute and the premise and the characters held their own. In Smut Amanda and Blake are partnered together in a creative writing class, but they have already made snap judgements about each other and aren’t too happy to be paired up. The writing goes well, and the pair find they compliment each others writing styles, and so when the assignment is handed in Blake suggests they write some anonymous erotica to be sold online for some quick money. Chaos ensues.

I wrote a full review for this book, which you can read here.

 3.5/5

Next up was

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout

26721568

 

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout- which I actually disliked a lot. You can read my full review here, which goes over most of it, but I actually re-reviewed it last week because I felt I was too lienent on it, you can read my re-review here. People still liked this book, I’m obviously just not one of them.

Originally gave this book 2.5 stars, but ultimately its a

1.5/5

So after the Problem with Forever I really wanted a fantasy to read, but I also wanted something short- and I only have one book that fits that criteria-

Grisha 1: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

22819449

I absolutely flew through this book, I was drawn in by the characters and the intense colours and cultures in this book. The story was gripping and the characters were all well-rounded (and though it all got a little fast paced at the end for my liking) I really enjoyed this book. I had heard lots of good things about this series, but I’ve also heard most people say that Six of Crows is a lot better, so now I’m really anticipating getting round to it.

4/5 stars

Full review to follow.

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

2800905

Next up I picked back up The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong, I’ve been slowly reading this for over two months now so I knew I had to dedicate myself to finishing it before I forgot what it was even about.  I sat down and finished it one evening, it was a pretty quick read. I liked this book a lot, it was a solid start to a series with some strong mystery and paranormal elements. I think I would have liked this book more if I’d read it before reading The Darkest Minds, because I kept comparing them and The Summoning just wasn’t as compelling or special.

3.5/5

Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot

23223

Aside from the cryptic title this book was a childhood favourite of mine (though it’s actually an adult book) which follows a cartoonist, Jane, and a journalist, Cal, as they travel to Italy to witness their friends (not-so-secret) elopement. Unfortunately Cal believes his friend Mark is making a mistake marrying Jane’s friend Holly, and let’s Jane know as much one night after some wine. It’s up to Jane to protect her friend’s upcoming nuptials from the arrogant journalist, all whilst trying to stop noticing how cute he is when he smiles….

This book is 110% as cheesy as it sounds. Maybe cheesier. I’ve been wanting to reread this for a while, and I happened to find it used for £2.20 on amazon with free delivery, so it was time to pick it back up. It wasn’t quite as I remembered- I remember being quite scandalised by the romance, but it’s very much PG, even more so then some YA (here’s looking at you ACOMAF) and I didn’t remember how ignorant and stereotypically ‘American tourist’ Jane, our narrator, is.

Either way I did enjoy it, but maybe mostly for old times sake.

Meg Cabot is soon to revisiting this series, which is pretty exciting!

3/5

Attachments By Rainbow Rowell

8909152

THIS. BOOK. WAS. SO. CUTE.

I loved this book so much, it was all cuddles and sunshine in book form. It’s about a guy named Lincoln whose job is to read through emails to send warnings to workers who aren’t sending work related things, but he can never find it in him to warn Beth and Jennifer because he is pulled in by their humour and friendship. Over time he looks forward to reading their exchanges, and starts to feel a pull towards Beth.

4.5/5

Full review here!

Next up was

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

12954620

This high fantasy follows the story of six main players in the revolution and war surrounding three kingdoms. We start with Cleo, the princess of Auranos, as she travels to the neighbouring country of Paelsia, which is mostly impoverished and struggling. Whilst there she and Lord Aron, a man who she definitely doesn’t like, go to buy some wine from a famous wine seller. After Aron insults the wine seller, his son defends him and Aron makes the hasty decision to kill him in retaliation. This act of violence sparks a revolution against Auranos and their haughty royals.

In the near-by country of Limeros Prince Magnus is struggling with his desire for his sister, and his father’s overbearing control of their country and his life.

Jonas has seen his brother die at the hands of Lord Aron and will now stop at nothing to get revenge on him and Princess Cleo, even if that means leading a rebellion and starting a war.

Rhodes spins a story from all these point of views, giving a well rounded account of how each event causes another.

This book was really interesting, but it also didn’t have the sort of world building and political intrigue I’d expect from a high fantasy. I’d been anticipating reading this for so long, and it underwhelmed me in the end. I will pick up the next book eventually, this is clearly a character centric story which will get better the more attached to the characters you are, it’s just a shame the world couldn’t be as rich.

3.5/5

Full review to follow

I also got through some new adult/adult fiction this month, and because I’m super behind on this wrap up, and because I’m supposed to be a YA blog (I’m all over the place at the moment, I know) so I’m just going to add them here.

24920901

2328880927083865

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Deal- 4/5

Pushing the Limits- 1/5

Roomhate- 3/5

I always find that when I’m in a bit of a book slump I go straight for the cheesy romances, and I kind of feel like I was in a bit of a book slump in June (though you might not believe me given the amount of books I’ve read).

(Also it is it only me that’s put off by book covers that are only shirtless guys? I must be in the minority because they are everywhere, but especially when you can’t even see their faces I think it’s a bit dehumanising, and demeaning for the book it’s covering. If I’d seen the cover of the Deal I wouldn’t have bought it, and I actually really liked it, its obviously a pet hate of mine but I wish they would stop with the embarrassing romance covers).

I also really got into the 100 this June, I started just after I finished my course at the end of May and then the whole month was a whirlwind of reading and watching amazon prime and then Harry Potter and the Cursed Child happened!

IMG_2035

You can read my review of the play here!

 

July TBR

(I literally hardly ever keep to TBRs I set myself, because I’m a total mood reader in that I never know what I want to read until a certain mood strikes me, and then I only want one type of book. But here we go anyway, with some books I’d like to get through in July)

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

26114463

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Andieh

18798983

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

17415685

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

10215349

London Belongs to Us by Sarra Manning

519KHvSs7EL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Zenith: The Androma Saga Part One by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

29569157

Stats for June 2016

Total books read: 10

Total pages read: 3,821 pages (the same as reading War and Peace three times!)

Goodreads challenge update: 28/52 (2 books ahead of schedule)

5 thoughts on “June Wrap Up and July TBR

    • cityoffiction says:

      I’m so excited for Six of Crows, I kind of hate myself for making me wait, especially now that I’m finding it difficult to pick up the second Grisha book (I don’t know why exactly either, I just keep wanting to read other things). I know it will all be worth it in the end!

      Like

    • cityoffiction says:

      The deal was so unexpectedly amazing, it was a lot of fun! I haven’t read a vampire book in ages, but I’ve heard good things about The Immortal Rules so heres hoping it makes up for the 2009 aesthetic book cover…

      Like

Leave a Reply

