Disability in YA WEEK 2016!

Recently the way disabled people are portrayed in books has been brought to our attention because of the argument surrounding the book, and now successful movie, Me Before You. The varying opinions on this subject have made me think twice about the portrayal of all disabled characters I have read about in recent years, and even more about their portrayal in YA books. YA is generally known for being a more diverse and open environment then adult books (and though it needs some serious work to make it truly representational) I find it odd that I actually haven’t read many YA books about disabled teens (in fact none at all that stay disabled throughout the entire story).

Thus Disability in YA 2016 was born. For this two week period, running from Monday the 8th of August to the Sunday the 21st we will allow an open non-judgemental environment in which to discuss YA books that deal with disability, and talk freely about how certain negative portrayals make us feel. I want to allow a platform for disabled and non-disabled people alike to discuss what they feel is acceptable in books, and how they interpret ‘positive representation’, without hurtful comments or abusive language.

After all, healthy discussion is a GOOD THING. We all have different opinions, and as long as they don’t hurt anyone else, then comparing and learning will help us all as people and diverse readers of YA.

Over the course of this two week period we will be reading a YA book with a disabled character, but this will not be a set book. Instead you can read whatever you choose, and then take part in our conversation to find the best positive disabled YA read of 2016!

What you need to know!

 

-Disability in YA 2016 runs from 8th August to Sunday the 21st

Join the Goodreads page to join the discussion

-Read ANY YA book with a disabled protagonist!

-Join our discussion on Sunday 21st August


I’d love to discuss YA reads with disabled protagonists with you all!

A list of suggested reads (a starting point for those of us who have no idea where to start!) will be published here and on goodreads in the next couple of days.

I hope you can all get involved!


 

So. I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve been working and now I’m on holiday, so you’ll have to forgive me. I’ve had this post in my drafts for over two weeks now, and you might have already heard about Disability in YA 2016 through my tumblr or my instagram.

I’m hoping to get a better posting schedule started soon, but my next post will hopefully be the suggested reads for Disability in YA 2016 and should be up very soon.

In the meantime I’d love to know your favourite book with a disabled protagonist, you can let me know in the comments or on the Goodreads group!

2 thoughts on “Disability in YA WEEK 2016!

  1. Pingback: July Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

