July Wrap Up!

July was even worse then May. Seriously, a bad reading month overall.

I read 1 book. One. Uno.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

IMG_2209.jpg

That book was Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton, and I gave it a 3 stars out of five. It was a little disappointing actually, I liked the plot and it definitely has a lot of potential, but I also didn’t bond with the characters, the majority of the book was slow paced and the real story only started in the last 80 pages or so.

I’m hoping to have a full review of this book up soon!


 

Reasons I didn’t read as much as I should have in July;

  • Pokemon Go
  • I read a lot in June, and I always seem to alternate between good and bad reading months
  • I was creating Disability in YA 2016
  • I started watching Jane the Virgin
  • Work
  • Vancouver
  • Pokemon Go

I mean, Pokemon Go is a serious time commitment. Even if you’re the most casual of players (which I am definitely not) you have to hit the pavement to find any Pokemon at all, and if you’re a little obsessed (which I definitely am) then Pokemon Go-ing means reading every article, watching every youtube video and hunting through every forum looking for more vital Pokemon information.

After all, I want to be the very best, like no one ever was.

I’ve also been in Vancouver for two weeks, and I’ve literally been out every day from morning to late evening and then been too exhausted to read when I get back home.

I do now own a copy of The Cursed Child, which I picked up at Indigo’s Midnight Release party last night (or early this morning, I guess). I haven’t actually read it yet, but seeing as I’ve seen the play I know what happens pretty well. It’s still very exciting to hold it in my hands though!

tumblr_inline_ob6p6rpUZZ1tzoo2q_500.gif

So, yeah. Reading has been slow.

Here’s to a better August!

(Also we are almost at ONE MONTH to Empire of Storms- HOLD ME!!)

6 thoughts on “July Wrap Up!

    • cityoffiction says:

      We all have bad months! Normally I have a good month, followed by a couple of bad ones, and then I’ll have another good one, so I’m hoping September will be great!

      Like

  1. booksandbubblebathsblog says:

    Your blog is absolutely beautiful! The pictures are so pleasing to the eye, the layout is incredibly thought through and navigation around your blog is easy. It’s nice to read your thoughts, keep doing what you’re doing lovely ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

