August Wrap Up!

It’s practically traditional to be late with wrap ups on this blog, so why break that streak now?

Without further ado, let’s get started (3 days late)!

The first book I read this month was a book I actually read the majority of last month, but it’s fallen into this wrap up because it didn’t quite make the last one;

Finnikan of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

9781406355895

I can’t even begin to explain the complexity of this high fantasy book, the first in the Lumatere triology, but I’ll try in the briefest way possible; Finnikan was best friends with the future king of Lumatere, Balthazar, when a curse is placed on the nation. Half the population manage to flee, Finnikan among them, but half stay in Lumatere and become locked inside. With no way to go home the Lumaterean exiles must find a new home, and new lives, but Finnikan cannot let go of his hope that everyone in Lumatere is still alive beyond the mist.

★★★★☆

Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales

23310761

Tonight the Streets are Ours is a coming of age novel, which explores friendships, blogs and let downs. I really loved the simplicity, but also the complexity of the main characters and how fast it was to read.

You can read my full review here.

★★★★☆

Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

not-if-i-see-you-first

I read this book for #DisabilityinYA 2016, as it follows a blind girl as she navigates a normal high school experience. It’s hard to put my feelings into words about this one, but it actually felt too… mundane? All of the ‘problems’ in this book were extremely immature and petty, and I was left really underwhelmed. I spent a while reflecting on my own time at high school, trying to work out whether it was accurate or not, but I ended up deciding it wasn’t (at least of mine). It was just utterly predictable.

In many ways though, I can see why it was- Lindstrom probably wanted to portray this book as a book about a blind protagonist who lives a normal teenage life, despite her disability. Unfortunately reading about most teenagers normal high school lives isn’t that interesting.

This book got given an extra star because I was looking out for bad portrayals of disabled people in YA, and I didn’t find it here. Its just a shame this book was so lacklustre.

★★☆☆☆

This Savage Song by V.E Schwab

this_savage_song_cover

WOW.

(in all honesty, before I read ACOMAF this would have been 5 stars, but like nothing seems to reach that mark anymore)

4.5/5 stars

Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino

23492533

SO MANY EMOTIONS! I adored this book, it was all kinds of perfect. No description I could give it would do it justice, so here- have the goodreads one;

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.

Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.

That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.

The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

I just loved this book, I ended up crying on the train and then again at work, but it was totally amazing and touching and just- perfect.

4.5/5 stars

The OTHER THINGS I’ve been doing this month

  • Watching the Get Down on Netflix (go and do it, you won’t regret it!)
  • Still playing Pokemon Go, now that I’m back in London and have internet
  • Exploring London
  • Celebrating my birthday!
  • Mentally preparing for EoS

Hope everyone had a great August! Bring on September and Empire of Storms!!!

Leave a Reply

