Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas!

This review was written in August 2015, back when I had first read Throne of Glass, and was one of my first book reviews. I’ve left it untouched, seeing as these were my original thoughts after Throne of Glass, but it’s a bit cringeworthy. Ignore baby-review-writing Katie.

Ok so I am going into this knowing that everyone and their mother has read this book, I am so late to this party. I had unusually high expectations as a result and was almost ready to be disappointed. I wasn’t.

16034235Throne of Glass hits all the rights spots; mostly fantasy with hints of historical, romance and a ‘badass female protagonist’ that is undeniably one of the most independent women in YA I have ever read.

The story follows Celaena Sarthdothian as she is taken from Endovier’s Salt Mines, a glorified death camp, and forced to participate in a hunger-games like competition between the worlds best criminals and soldiers to become the king’s next assassin. But Celaena has an edge over her competition- she is world’s most notorious assassin- or at least was until she was caught and imprisoned.

Now Celaena is fighting for her life, not just against the other ‘champions’ she faces in challenges but also against a mysterious creature that is slowly but surely killing off the other competitors. Then throw in the Prince, Dorian, and the Captain of the Guard, Chaol; both of whom are drawn to Celaena’s sharp tongue and strength.

This book was slow to start, heavy with world building but only showing tantalising whispers of Celaena’s own back story, even by the end of the book the mystery I was most intrigued by was the main character. Once I had gotten into the story though this just added to my growing need for more. By the time I had finished this book I seriously needed to read the next one, luckily for me I don’t have to wait.

Bottom line- I had a great time reading this book, it was slow to start but worth the effort- especially because I can appreciate good world building when I see it. As much as it annoys me I love the mystery surrounding Celaena own backstory and I love her individuality not just as prop piece bad ass pro tag but as a fully formed, well rounded character. This book is well worth a go.

Leave a Reply

