September and October Wrap Up!

Yes, its the end of November. Don’t judge me.

Let’s start with;

September

Ahhh. The month of Empire of Storms.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

9781408872895

I had a lot of fun with Empire of Storms, even though I locked myself in my room for two days reading frantically and avoiding social media because I was sure I’d be spoiled (even though months later I have yet to see a spoiler. Well done tumblr!) The next time a Sarah J Maas book comes out I have to refrain from doing this, it definitely takes away some of the enjoyment, and makes into a bit of a chore. Also, you miss the details.

Oh well, the details are for rereads, or in my case audio rereads. After a book I really loved is released I will listen to scenes over and over in audio, which definitely helps understanding all the small plot lines and all the sneaky foreshadowing Sarah throws in.

I still have some problems with this book, which hurts me inside (I love Sarah so much, I hate to find fault with anything she writes). I basically felt a lot of the male characters were defaulting to ‘Alpha Male personality disorder’ even though in previous books they were more defined and separate….? Just a lot of growling, possessiveness and abs is what I’m saying.

Read more about it in my review!

Then, hot off the heels of EoS I picked up An Ember in the Ashes because A Torch Against the Night had just come out, and I’ve owned AEITA for a while. Also, reading another good book after a Maas book is said to stop reading hangovers.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

27774758

 

This book was pretty amazing. Complex characters, morality issues, revenge plots all set in a fantasy world based on ancient Rome? Sign me up. I’d recommend this one to anyone.

Read my full review here.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

I also really enjoyed The Wrath and the Dawn, it took me quite a long time to get adjusted to the names and the places, just because I am so used to caucasian names. This meant for the first 1/4 of the book I was missing other details, but I caught on soon enough.

I still haven’t written my review for The Wrath and the Dawn, but I will. Soon.

October

On October 26th I met Leigh Bardugo and Rainbow Rowell, and I had planned to read Leigh’s books before I met her. I didn’t quite achieve that, but I had a good go at it.

I started the month with;

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

14061955

I had previously read Shadow and Bone, you can read my review here, and liked it enough. It took me almost a year to pick up Siege and Storm, and OH MY GOD WHY DIDN’T I SOONER? I LOVED this book!

My review for this will be out soon!

and then I read;

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

14061957.jpg

Just to finish the set. This one was even better then the second one. And boy, did I cry.

I then took a Leigh Bardugo break. By this point I had failed in my mission to read all the Bardugo books before the signing, which had happened the night after I finished Ruin and Rising.

I was sent Heartless by Macmillan UK (thank you!) and so I picked that up straight away.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

18584855

I have to say…. I didn’t love this book. I didn’t connect with the characters, and that’s my favourite thing about books (strong characters are a MUST). This was especially a shame because the Lunar Chronicles includes some of my favourite characters in recent memory.

You can read my whole, mostly incoherent, review here.

And that was it for October! So, two not so good reading months, but I did get the pleasure of reading some great books!

I’m in the process of writing a November wrap up, so watch out for that!

 

2 thoughts on “September and October Wrap Up!

    • cityoffiction says:

      I’ve heard a couple of people say the same thing since, so at least I’m not alone! I totally understand that everyone has different preferences, but when I keep seeing people give Heartless 5 stars I feel a bit sceptical, because it so wasn’t catching at all for me. Oh well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

