November and December Wrap Up!

So I went to write a year in review post, and realised I haven’t even written an November or December wrap up, so here we go!

I did manage to just about finish my goodreads challenge of 50 books this year, but you can probably tell from all the romance novels in this list that I took to some quick reads to make that happen!

I started November with

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

28678119

 

I wrote a full review for Paper Princess, which you can read here!

I actually really enjoyed Paper Princess, but I also had a few issues with it (but then again, what NA romance has ever been perfect and nonproblematic?)

I ended up giving Paper Princes 3.5/5 ice creams, I just couldn’t give it any higher because of the quite serious slut shaming that takes place throughout this book (which I talk about fully in my review).

Then I started;

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Sixofcrows.jpg

Which, of course, was amazing. I haven’t written a full review for this yet, but I’m working on it (I have so many drafts on the go it’s embarrassing !)

I gave Six of Crows 5/5 ice creams (and it’s on my favourites list for 2016!)

I was definitely in the mood for something to get me out of a post-Six of Crows book hangover, so I headed for Meg Cabot’s new release;

The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot

51AWPRmvemL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve been anticipating this for a while, I did a Waiting on Wednesday post about it all the way back in June, and it didn’t let me down.

I really enjoyed the story, which is a super quick read told entirely through emails, diary entries, tickets and newspaper clippings. It was funny and sweet, and that was all I needed.

I gave The Boy is Back 3 out of 5 ice creams!

(I also haven’t written a review for this one, opps!)

I then picked up;

The Diabolic by S J Kincaid

26836910.jpg

which was INSANELY goos, but also a complete surprise, because I hadn’t heard all the much about it! Just plot twist after plot twist, the world building was immense, and the characters were too!

I gave The Diabolic 4.5/5 ice creams!

Next up was

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

27213238

Unfortunately I just really couldn’t get into this one at all. There didn’t seem to be anything wrong with it, the writing was fine, the dialogue was fine, it just wasn’t right for me.

I flew through the last half, mostly because I hate leaving books unread, so I’m probably not the best judge of the ending, but the beginning didn’t grab me like I thought it would.

I’m giving this 2 ice creams out of 5.

Moving on, I was still behind on my goodreads challenge, and I’ve been painting A LOT, so I thought I’d pick up an audiobook which wasn’t too complicated for me to comprehend whilst also doing something else. I choose;

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

11505797.jpg

I actually did enjoy this as an audiobook. It definitely wasn’t all that memorable to me, and I can’t even really remember the characters names now, but it was a fun listen.

I’ve read a lot of goodreads reviews which say the main love interest is abusive, which I disagree with (I do think he has some serious anger issues though) and I think this brings up interesting arguments about morally grey characters in books.

Either way, I gave this book 3/5 ice creams.

Next up was;

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber

27883214.jpg

I was lucky enough to be sent two ARCs of Caraval by Hodder and Stoughton, and…

I’m giving away one! This giveaway is open internationally, and ends TOMORROW January 3rd! read here for more information!

I’ve written a full review of Caraval here.  This is one of those cases of wanting to re-review a book after you’ve let it mull for a while. I originally gave Caraval 3.75 ice creams, but I totally believe its a solid 4 ice creams for me now!

and finally, the last book of 2016;

Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

28101540.jpg

This was an important book about agoraphobia, but also about life, relationships and trust. I’m really glad I ended the year with it, and I recommend you pick it up if you can

This book is released in the US on January 3rd, tomorrow!, so keep an eye out for it!

I gave this book 3.5 ice creams. I felt bad about not giving it more, there was literally nothing wrong with this book, and I really enjoyed it, but contemporary really isn’t my thing and I can’t give it 4 ice cream or higher knowing that that would place it on the same tier as other books I absolutely loved.

And that was November and December!

Overall I read 8 books, one a week, so I’m relatively happy with it!

I’ll be posting a year in review, and listing my 2016 favourites, very soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

