My 2017 Most Anticipated Read (and book buying ban).

Foreword: This blog post was written almost entirely in January, ten days into January to be precise. Like most things I left it in my drafts, and now I’ve come along and finally finished it. Yay! I don’t see much point in rearranging my original text to make it seem like I wrote all this in March (when this was so obviously supposed to be a start of year post) so expect some differences on time zones throughout. Enjoy!

I start this year with 35 books sitting on my shelves yet to read- and I am excited about all of them. Because of this, and believe me I wish I didn’t have to do this, I am going on a book buying ban. For a year. Starting now.

Actually, we are now 10 days into this ban, and I can confirm I have not *technically* brought any books yet. Technically, because I built in a few rules that will help me get through this long long year.

First of all, I am allowed to buy my most anticipated releases. A couple of weeks ago I wrote a list of all the books I am dying to read in 2017, and I then preordered them all, so I don’t have to worry about missing out. I also am allowed to buy a few sequels, because 99% of the unread books I own are firsts in a series, and I know never getting further then the first book in some of these will kill me.

So, without further ado, here comes my most anticipated books of 2017 up to May (aka. the ones I have allowed myself to preorder)(I will be planning my rest of year anticipated releases in late May, so I don’t miss any out).

January

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Releases January 31st

27883214

So I’ve actually been lucky enough to already read this one, thanks to Hodder and Stoughton who sent me a copy. You can read my whole review here. I’m very excited to see the finished version, you just know this cover design is going to look gorgeous in person, I just can’t wait!

February

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhona Belleza

Releases February 7th

30269126

I’m super excited to see how this sci-fi fantasy plays out. When a synopsis introduces two characters separately and you just know their stories are going to collide I CAN’T CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT! I live for ‘two unexpecting strangers meet and change each other forever’ GIVE IT TO ME!

Synopsis;

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

March

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Releases March 28th!

28449207.jpg

YOU NEED THIS BOOK. I’ve been lucky enough to read this beauty, and it was life changing. Just amazing. The writing was absolutely stunning, visually it was amazing, the characters were PERFECT. I have’t written a full review yet, but to be honest I don’t know if I’ll be able to write a coherent review without doing a reread (which I really want to do), but believe me, preorder it now!

Synopsis;

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? and if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

Releases March 28th

29939047.jpg

I didn’t absolutely LOVE Star Touched Queen but I did enjoy myself. If ACOMAF has taught me anything about sequels though its that everything can change in the second book, so I’ve let myself preorder this one.

April

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Releases April 6th

32075671.jpg

This book has already been released in the US, and so if you are there I highly recommend you grab yourself a copy. I haven’t read it yet, but the subject matter is one that is extremely important. I’m so happy that YA books like this one are being written and talked about.

Synopsis;

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

Secrets of Reluctant Princess by Casey Griffin

Releases April 11th

29939193.jpg

I’m a massive Princess Diaries fan so when I read the synopsis for this book I had to preorder. My copy won’t be arriving until May, which is super annoying, but there you go.

Synopsis;

At Beverly Hills High, you have to be ruthless to survive…

Adrianna Bottom always wanted to be liked. But this wasn’t exactly what she had in mind. Now, she’s in the spotlight…and out of her geeky comfort zone. She’ll do whatever it takes to turn the rumor mill in her favor—even if it means keeping secrets. So far, it’s working.

Wear the right clothes. Say the right things. Be seen with the right people.

Kevin, the adorable sketch artist who shares her love of all things nerd, isn’t exactly the right people. But that doesn’t stop Adrianna from crushing on him. The only way she can spend time with him is in disguise, as Princess Andy, the masked girl he’s been LARPing with. If he found out who she really was, though, he’d hate her.

The rules have been set. The teams have their players. Game on.

May

The big one. I’m beyond excited for May. You probably already know why…

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

Releases May 2nd

31451174.jpg

There was definitely no need to look up the release date for ACOWAR, it’s been engraved in my mind for weeks now. May is going to be one hell of a month, and this book may just end me (but just to be clear, if I was going to let any author kill me, it would be Sarah J Maas. Slay me Sarah!)

Synopsis;

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

GOD GIVE IT TO ME NOW!!! If by some fluke you haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses you need to go do that, right now!

and last but by no means least (I mean at ALL, because I am so excited for this one)

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Releases May 23rd

30312891.jpg

You know what they say about buses? About it being typical that you wait ages for a bus, and then two turn up at the same time? It’s the same with good books. ACOWAR and Lord of Shadows will be releasing within three weeks on each other, after me waiting over a year for them both. Of course I’m not actually annoyed, May is going to be a super exciting month to be part of the YA community! AND I’ve heard it takes place in London, my home city! I can’t wait to see how Cassie writes modern London, and to see where this series will go next.

Synopsis;

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?

And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

So thats it! Do you have any books you are DYING to read?

3 thoughts on “My 2017 Most Anticipated Read (and book buying ban).

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I loved Caraval! I have an ARC of Strange The Dreamer which I should hurry up and read because the release date is really soon, haha. I’m also excited for The Hate U Give! I didn’t love The Star-Touched Queen, but the writing was really beautiful so I’m very interested to see what I’ll think of A Crown of Wishes.

    Like

  2. hunguponbooks says:

    I loved Caraval! I have Empress of a Thousand Skies from Fairyloot, but haven’t read it yet. I’m really looking forward to Strange the Dreamer! The Hate U Give sounds so good, but I think I’ll have to purchase it in August once I’m home as I currently don’t have any money to spend on books. Same with A Crown of Wishes, but I’m unsure whether to get it or not as I was a bit disappointed with The Star-Touched Queen, as in I didn’t enjoy it as much as the hype kind of told me I would! Obviously I’m excited for ACOWAR though 😀

    Like

    • cityoffiction says:

      Star touched queen let me down as well, but I’ve heard people say the second book is a lot better (and look at ACOMAF! I will never judge a series by it’s first book again). I think it’s actually been released now and I didn’t buy it, I was splashing out on all those Laini books ; )

      Like

Leave a Reply

