When your book slump has lasted FOUR months but Tower of Dawn saves the day

So yeah. Four months. The last book I read was Lord of Shadows back when it was released in May- let that sink in. I’m pretty sure Cassandra Clare broke me.

Normally when I’m in a reading slump I can get out of it by

  • rereading old favourites
  • rereading the book I just read
  • listening to audiobooks
  • reading new adult romance (or any bodice ripper pretty much)

But none of these tried and proven techniques have worked this time around. I’ve also been pretty much absent on instagram because I just have nothing to say at the moment.

But you’ll be happy to say that two days ago I picked up Tower of Dawn, and oh my gosh I AM BACK! It’s weird, but I’ve recently fallen out of love with SJM, I’ve been noticing little things about the Throne of Glass series that were really bugging me (using the world MALE six times on one page for example) but Tower of Dawn has been amazing so far!

I’m not even the biggest Chaol fan but the introduction of a new setting and new characters has really reinvigorated me, and I am so glad Sarah spread this out over a whole book instead of the novella that was planned. I’ve previously said that Leigh Bardugo is worlds better then other YA fantasy authors at culture building, but Sarah is really improving and that’s very clear in Tower of Dawn. I feel like she has paid a lot of attention to filling in and fleshing out the setting and the differences in culture and traditions and I really, really appreciate it.

This is basically a mid-book review, but if you were doubting Tower of Dawn in anyway it’s definitely worth a shot.

 

 

Leave a Reply

