Favourite Books of 2016!


2016 was an alright reading year for me, I successfully finished my goodreads challenge of 50 books (which is a low bar to set for me, but I had a pretty busy year). It probably wasn’t helped by the fact I watched a lot of Netflix as well (damn you Stranger Things!) So let’s look at my overall favourites of the year.

I’ve tried my very best to order these in a countdown style, but with the last couple of books it became very difficult…

Let’s start with

The Wrath and the Dawn (not pictured)

18798983

My copy is out on loan atm, when you read a great book you just have to share it with friends.

The plot, the characters and the richness of the world made this a favourite this year. It took me a very long time to get into, I had problems with remembering all the new words for places and people, but once I had learned it all I was transfixed.

I’m hoping to read the Rose and the Dagger very soon!

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (also not pictured)

8909152

The only contemporary to make the list! This was just too cute, I adored every second of it, and I’m already itching for a reread!

I actually wrote a review for Attachments, which you can read here!

 

 

 

 

The Diabolic

26836910

This book was an unexpected favourite. I’ve read a lot of criticisms of it, but I adored this whole book, start to finish. The world building was on point, and the plot twists just kept coming. I was gasping out loud the whole second half, and I really didn’t predict the ending at all. I really recommend this for anyone who liked The Lunar Chronicles or just sci-fi in general.

 

 

 

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (not pictured!)

TSA_cover.jpg

It’s weird because really I read these all in 2015 when they came out individually as short stories, but this November TFTSA was published as a physical book, so I felt it’s only right to include it in my 2016 favourites!

 

 

 

 

An Ember in the Ashes

27774758

What. A. Book. I couldn’t stop thinking about this one for months. The combination of history and fantasy, along with the duel point of view made this book just incredible to read. I picked this up just in time to read A Torch Against the Night but I then didn’t pick that up (I put myself on a temporary book buying ban) so I’m really excited to getting to in 2017.

You can read my review here!

 

 

 

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

14061957

This is how you write a finale. This small book was full of character development, witty dialogue and heartbreak (my heartbreak, I mean). This year I read very nearly all of Leigh’s books (I’m reading Crooked Kingdom atm, but it looks like it’ll be my first book finished in 2017) and I loved them all. I’m so glad I’ve gotten around to them, they’ve been so amazing, and Leigh is definitely now one of my favourite authors.

 

 

 

And now the final three.

I really can’t order these ones at all, but I feel like one book does come out on top.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrows

SCREAMS LOUDLY. If you know me, all my favourite books have a rag tag group of unlikely friends AND THIS BOOK IS THAT. I can’t believe it took me so long to get round to this (well I can, I actually brought it when it first came out, but I made myself read the Grisha first, which I recommend!) and BOY was it a book to call home about. I’m going to die at the end of Crooked Kingdom, I can tell.

 

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

LM_cover.jpgThis was such a strong start to a series, I am so excited for Lord of Shadows. Cassie gets better and better with every book she writes, and the cast of characters in this book (and there are a lot of them to remember as well) are all individual and memorable and perfect.

The next book will take place in London, my home city, and I can’t wait to see how she uses it.

 

 

 

And my book of the year, my absolute favourite book of 2016;

A Court of Mist and Fury

17927395

I had to give the top spot to ACOMAF because there’s only one book on this list I read in May and haven’t been able to stop thinking about since. There’s also no other book I’ve felt compelled to paint, so there was no competition.

You can read my review of ACOMAF here!

Leave a comment